Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does paying early help CLI request?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Does paying early help CLI request?

I am new to Discover and currently I am using $30 or so out of $500, statement cut off isn't until the 20th, should I pay before the statement is cut or is it better leave this small balance on the statement so that it would report to the CRA as me "actively using" the card?

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
fused
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Does paying early help CLI request?

Do you have any other CCs reporting balances on your credit reports?

ETA: After reading your post, I'm a bit confused by the title of your thread. You don't need to let a balance report in order for a CCC to offer you a CLI. They already know about your activity and spending and paying habits.Smiley Happy

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

@fused wrote:

Do you have any other CCs reporting balances on your credit reports?

ETA: After reading your post, I'm a bit confused by the title of your thread. You don't need to let a balance report in order for a CCC to offer you a CLI. They already know about your activity and spending and paying habits.Smiley Happy

I have read somewhere that if an account is reporting 0 balance, fico ignores it because it thinks I am not using the card therefore won't help my score. Is that true?

Message 3 of 7
fused
Moderator Emeritus

Not exactly. Its a good idea not to have too many cards reporting ANY balance. So long as you have one CC reporting a balance, you will not lose points for no current use of revolving accounts. 

Message 4 of 7
gamegrrl
Frequent Contributor

I get paid twice a month, including the 15th of the month. I pay half of my bills on each payday, every month.