cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Effect of credit cards on credit score

tag

Effect of credit cards on credit score

I have a couple of questions:

Given: I have a Citi Mastercard with a limit of $5,600 (card member since 2007), Visa Amazon card (card member since early 2009) with a limit of $3,600, and have perfect payment history (always paid each statement in full and on time - never paid any interest). Other than these two credit cards I have no loans or anything to prove or disprove credit worthiness. My current salary is about 50k and will change to about 56k mid-year. I don't know what my credit score is because I've never run a report.

1. I recently applied for a Paypal Mastercard. I haven't gotten the card yet, but was told over the phone that I had been accepted and that my credit limit would be $500. I didn't request a credit line increase over the phone (I was just accepted and don't even have the card yet), but I really would like to have a larger limit. Every once in awhile I might use paypal for a large purchase in excess of that amount, probably only like once a year, if that, although most of the time I'd just be using it for gas because it gets 3% back - and I'd never spend more than 500/mo on gas - so for the majority of the time I'd have no issue with it. But, it really would be nice to have a larger limit, in the $2,000 - $3,000 range, especially because I'm thinking of getting rid of my Citi mastercard because it only gets 1% back on purchases (5% back on quarterly categories, but I'd rather have consistent year-round rates, which both the Amazon and Paypal cards have). Would my credit score be negatively impacted if I were to request a CLI after a month or two? Should I wait longer - if so how long?