Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Expanding my portfolio...

tag
mum4519
Contributor

Expanding my portfolio...

Hey everyone,

Long story short in 2009 I was an irresponsible college student racking up CC debt and neglecting it. I had three chargeoffs, Discover, Citi, and BofA. I ended up settling on all three of these accounts. I found my local credit union willing to get a 24 month loan for me to pay these settlements off. That was about 1 year ago. Since I took the loan, I have been working for Wells Fargo for over a year, making good money, and trying to reestablish my credit that I neglected as a college student. I'm going to hit the "garden" as you guys say, at least for a while. 

Cap One were the first ones willing to take the risk with me to rebuild my credit and that was with a $300 CL card. Since then (Sept 2011) this is what I have established:

Capital One $1,000 CL .....($0 Bal)

Wells Fargo Rewards $4,600 CL .....($220 Bal - PIF bi-weekly)

Barclays Apple Visa $2,000 CL .....($0 Bal)

Chase Amazon VISA $700 CL .....($105 Bal - PIF bi-weekly)

WalMart Store Card $500 CL .....($0 Bal)

Cabela's VISA (don't know limit yet, just applied and instant approval tonight)

Equifax - 655

Transunion - 707

Experian - 662

My scores may not be the best, but when I took out my loan last September the credit union pulled a 592, so they have jumped a good deal in 11 months. 

If anybody has any recommendations for me on how to continue to improve my credit, they are greatly recommended!

Thanks everybody!

- In My Wallet -

AMEX BCE $17,000
Wells Fargo Rewards $9,200
Chase Southwest VISA $5,200
Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
mtrsprt
Frequent Contributor

Re: Expanding my portfolio...

I am surprised you have scores that high with multiple charge-offs in 2009.  Your on your way.

Starting Score: 521 TU, 597 EQ, 574 EX on 6/20/2011
Current Score: 753 TU, 764 EQ, 766 EX on 02/17/2014
Goal Score: 720-740 Across the board

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge