Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fidelity FIA/Elan CLI Strategy

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Fidelity FIA/Elan CLI Strategy

Need some opinions from the crowd here...

I have a Bank of America Mastercard (the 3/2/1 one) with a $12,200 limit, and I also have had the original Fidelity Amex 2% since 2012 and have a $20,000 limit (issued by FIA which is owned by Bank of America). I have my new Fidelity Elan card in hand and they kept my $20K limit the same-  no issues there.

The FIA card is going to be officially transferred/deactivated on July 26th, although right now is technically still (I believe) an open account.

Since BofA is losing $20,000 of exposure with the FIA account being moved to Elan, I'm hoping to make up the difference in CL on my existing BofA card. I'm wondering what I should do with my BofA account (which gets very light usage) in order to maximize my total CL:

• A: Call BofA now (before the transfer) and move as much of my FIA CL as possible over to the 3/2/1 Mastercard (will they do this? which number to call?)
  • B: Wait until the FIA account is closed and then apply for a CLI with BofA
  • C: You idiot, don't bother doing anything since the 3/2/1 card gets very light usage... the logical choice but I like to chase high credit limits when I can :-)

Opinions? Experiences? Thank you in advance!

5 REPLIES 5
JSS3
Valued Contributor

Re: Fidelity FIA/Elan CLI Strategy

I'm in the same boat. I'm waiting until the 26th(and FIA) is completely finished. Will then be hitting the CLI button on my BofA Americard. I also want to apply for the Better Balance. In the end, my Elan will have a 20,000 card and I'll hopefully end up with two BofA cards and back at my exposure with them. I have to wait because the last time I attempted a CLI, they moved limits due to me being at maximum exposure. Gotta dump this 20,000 Elan first.