Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finally in with USAA-- but question

tag
empiror22
Regular Contributor

Re: Finally in with USAA-- but question

I find them to be a great bank/company, they have always been great to me.  I started with 2 secured cards 3k each, after 2 years i applied and approved for two cards at 4.5k each at interest of 13% (i could have probably done it earlier but i was in no rush to get the secured money back).  I also have received two cli over the last 1.5 years (or so) to about 12k each card (with HPs each time, therefore 2 HPs).  In general other bank do have better rewards, NFCU is one that i prefer or Amex, but USAA gave me my highest limits to start and over time (i don't chase CLIs, therefore they are all auto CLI from other banks). 

to sum it up, USAA is good to you if you are good to them, BTW i always understate my income as i'm a grad student, so i only tell them about my RA salary 20k or so.  They don't care about my debt to income.  I always pay in full (they have received about $2 in interest over the past 4 years from me), i never go over 50% of CL with them or any of my other cards....... Basically be good to them they will be good to you.

Message 11 of 14
Mistykins777
Established Member

I applied for an auto loan and was approved but they would only finance 80% of my car's purchase price so they suggested I try applying for a CC since I was so close to getting where I needed to be on the auto loan. Immediately approved for 4K on the rewards Amex. I am now a loyal customer and have a bank account and car insurance with them...their customer service is superior!
Message 12 of 14
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

@TraumaMomm2 wrote:

My question is: now that I'm in with them (finally) with a loan (and once I let that age a bit)-- will they be more likely to approve me for one of their credit cards?