Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Ever Credit Card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First Ever Credit Card

Hi,

So I have finally managed to get my first ever credit card.  I moved here from the UK this year and now have a secured Bank of America VISA card.  I have put $500 on the card as my credit limit.

I have nothing on my credit report so far, so my question is what is the best way to build my credit score as a total beginner.  I've heard/read various conflicting suggestions.  My plan is to pay back the total balance on my card as soon as each statement (e-Bill) arrives.  but somewhere I read I should only use around 10% of the $500 limit?  But then someone else said I should be using the whole $500 to show I'm not afraid of using the credit and paying it back.  Please enlighten me on my best strategy going forward.  As I said, currently no credit score, nothing on my credit report other than a few non-secured applications which were declined.

Many thanks,

Tom 

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
DI
Super Contributor

Re: First Ever Credit Card

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi,

So I have finally managed to get my first ever credit card.  I moved here from the UK this year and now have a secured Bank of America VISA card.  I have put $500 on the card as my credit limit.

I have nothing on my credit report so far, so my question is what is the best way to build my credit score as a total beginner.  I've heard/read various conflicting suggestions.  My plan is to pay back the total balance on my card as soon as each statement (e-Bill) arrives.  but somewhere I read I should only use around 10% of the $500 limit?  But then someone else said I should be using the whole $500 to show I'm not afraid of using the credit and paying it back.  Please enlighten me on my best strategy going forward.  As I said, currently no credit score, nothing on my credit report other than a few non-secured applications which were declined.

Many thanks,

Tom