Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Post! Capital One issue

tag
Fresh-Start
Frequent Contributor

First Post! Capital One issue

Hi Everyone! I'm new to the MyFICO forums, although I've been lurking for a few weeks now.  Glad to be here!

Hoping I can get some feedback on an issue I had with Capital One last night.  I signed on to their website and discovered that one of my accounts was "Restricted" and they had a message for me to call in.  So I did.  Once I called in, the Customer Service rep told me that they had received a payment of $20 that I made through my bank like I always do, but that they needed to confirm if it was MY account that it was paid through.  Well, I was completely confused because this is my "Secured" account that I've had with them for almost two years now and have always used the same account to make a payment through my Banks' Bil Payer. 

They wanted to do a 3rd Party call with my bank to confirm that the account was mine.  Well my bank (Bank of America) would not do that.  They tried for almost 45 minutes.  It was crazy!  FINALLY, after being passed around to various Cust. Serv. Rep's, I told them ENOUGH.  I would not go through this over a $20 payment that was made directly from my bank.  Eventually, they lifted the Restriction. But I could not believe out of no where they put me through all this drama over a $20 payment when I've made all of my payments in the last two years from the exact same bank account for various amounts and never had a problem..  Has anyone had this happen before with a payment made through their Bill Payer?

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
injustifiiable
Valued Contributor

Re: First Post! Capital One issue

It's a crap shoot, basically.

It hasn't actually happened to me, though...and I've been paying through my bank's bill pay service every two weeks on the nose for seven months now.