Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Premier/ New Credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First Premier/ New Credit

I've had my First Premier Credit Card for almost 6 months and I am just starting out on building credit, so I'd like to know if you think they will raise my credit limit (once I reach 6 months with them). Also, at the 6 month mark, should I apply to other credit card companies, and if so which ones? Lastly, I've ALWAYS paid on time, at least 12 days before the due date, I've never gone over the limit, and finally I always pay at least 5 times the minimum monthly payment. Thank you!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: First Premier/ New Credit

It might help if you give some more background of your credit profile. Is that the only card you have with no other derogs on your reports? If so IMHO I would wait till about a year and then try to app for another card. First premier is okay for a lil while but the fees are not worth it in the long. I know you have to pay to play but after a while you will get the shaft

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

First Premier doesn't give out credit limit increases except if you pay a huge amount for them.  I think it's $25 for each $100 in increase.   A real credit card gives you increases for free, so don't bother ever asking FP for a CL increase, ever.

You also don't need to carry a balance on a credit card to show good payment history.   You only need to do that with a REAL CREDIT CARD if you want to convince the bank to give you a CLI.   That doesn't work for First Premier.   They don't care.

First Premier charges you each month to keep the account open, so there is no reason for you to ever charge anything on the card.   Their monthly fees is enough for utilization PLUS First Premier never closes accounts for inactivty, as long as the borrower continues to pay the fees.