Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First and second credit cards. What to do next

tag
tbea1004
Frequent Contributor

Re: First and second credit cards. What to do next

@Anonymous wrote:

After a year, you should be able to get Discover IT, Amex BCP, and Chase Freedom. I'm not sure after six months. As a general rule, I'm against apping for cards you won't use, so I wouldn't use the shopping card trick unless you shop at the store frequently. Kohls is the main store I shop for clothes at, so I understand that one. 

I am new at this so can you explain the shopping card trick to me? I am under %30 util and I will start keeping it under 10.

Message 11 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

OP try and get four no AF cards open as soon as you can, being reasonable about what you apply for. Secured if you have to. Once you get four work on CLI'ing them. Get an amex as soon as you have a score over 680, even if you have to get their secured card.

The reason is to build up a block of old no AF cards that will help your AAoA in the future. Right now your AAoA is miniscule and you can hardly make it worse. If you get four, in two years they will all be two years old and they will protect your AAoA when you app something new.

No AF so you can afford to keep them open the rest of your life.

Message 12 of 18
noobody
Established Contributor

When you apply new credit, usually you got hit with HP, and AAoA, since shopping cart trick do not HP, and your AAoA is next to 0, you have nothing to loose, and more trade line to protect your AAoA in the future to gain, the is the perfect time to do it,
EX819 1HP|TU797 1HP| EQ(Fico8 BankCard)841
Message 13 of 18
tbea1004
Frequent Contributor

@noobody wrote:
When you apply new credit, usually you got hit with HP, and AAoA, since shopping cart trick do not HP, and your AAoA is next to 0, you have nothing to loose, and more trade line to protect your AAoA in the future to gain, the is the perfect time to do it,