cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First post, jumped into the "credit card pool". What next?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First post, jumped into the "credit card pool". What next?

Hello to those paying attention Smiley Wink

This is my first time here as a member.

Other than having 1 capital one credit card for the past 7 years (with a low credit limit ~ usually paid in full), my husband and I have never had any other credit cards and we are debt free in the loan department as well. We are both in our early 40's and totally clueless and ignorant to the world of financial strategies.

We both have steady jobs. I have been at mine for 2 years, he has been at his for 15.

We don't have a car payment or a home payment at the moment and we are planning on purchasing our first home in the next few months to year.

After reading alot of advice on here and plans on here last night for increasing credit ratings, I decided to jump in the credit card pool.

One thing I read is that I should apply for a few different cc's at the same time and so that is what I did. 4 out of 6 have been approved, the last two are pending. To my shock (I dont make a lot of money), I was approved for the american express blue cash preferred card which I have heard is hard to get unless you have excellent credit so according to american express, I must have great credit. The last time I checked my credit score (about a year ago), it was only around 720.

I have a couple of questions.

What should the plan be now that I have these credit cards?

If my husbands income is what the home loan will mostly be based on, is it ok for him to get a few credit cards now or should he wait until after we have been approved for a loan on the home?

How many points does applying for a credit card cause your credit score to drop? Once it drops, what is the best way to get it back up and how long does it take?