Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First post! need help deciding to apply

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First post! need help deciding to apply

Hi all, I'm new to MyFico, this will be my first post.

I'm trying to decide if i should apply for a new card. I recently turned 21 in September, and I feel that I am well on my way to better credit.

This is what my current file consists of:

Barclaycard Rewards Mastercard - (Since May 2012) 2K limit, 0 current balance

Citi Forward Visa - (Since February 2012)  2K Limit, 0 current balance

SunTrust Bank Platinum Rewards Visa (Since April 2012) - 1K limit, $150 current balance

Platinum Visa from local credit union - (Since September 2009) - $300 Limit, $40 current balance

Best Buy Credit Card - (Since December 2010) - 1.2K Limit, 0 current balance

Chase Mortgage - (Since December 2011) $684/month payment

Yearly income approx: $30k 

Credit Karma score : 713  Credit Sesame score : 726

6 hard inquiries in 2012

Since buying the house last year, I have focused on strengthening my credit card portfolio, and I have been happy with the results so far. I have absolutely no late payments or derogatory marks, don't carry large balances and PIF when I can, and lately I have been rotating the cards I use each month to maximize rewards and also to keep any from going without use. I've currently got my eyes set on an AMEX Blue Cash Preferred because I want to build a history with them, plus I drive nearly 130 miles each day so the gas rewards would be awesome! I am hesitant to apply, however, because of the AAOA on my profile and because I am unsure of the requirements to "get in" with an AMEX revolving card. Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated! I've been browsing the forums for awhile now and I have been very impressed with the knowledge base, I know I'm in the right place!

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Re: First post! need help deciding to apply