cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Frustrated with trying to build my credit... I need help!

tag
anikban21
New Visitor

Frustrated with trying to build my credit... I need help!

Hey all,

New to MyFico. I've battled with my credit ever since I turned 18. I didn't learn the best financial behaviors when I was younger therefor I am where I am. I have managed to turn it around but am stuck. I get denied for EVERY card I apply for and I'm just frustrated as to why. I would like to buy property in a few years and I'm a student so I want to make changes that will really bring my score up. I was able to get an Auto Loan 14,000$ (Santander Consumer) and I have two credit cards, Nordstrom Retail Card- 300$ Limit (I work for them) and First Premier 300$. I hate the first premier card, every time I turn around they are charging me fees so I basically never even use the card. I just paid the balance off completely, I've had the card for a year and they still won't increase me. I would like to start rebuilding my scores so that I can ditch these subprime lenders and have some real bank credit cards. Any tips, suggestions, please HELP!!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
ecocredit
New Contributor

Re: Frustrated with trying to build my credit... I need help!

Welcome!

1. Rebuilding or building credit is a game of patience so getting frustrated wont help the situation
  2. Understand the factors that go into your scoring
  3. Don't ever borrow more than you can pay off
  4. If you have debt with high interest rates, pay it off or find a balance transfer program and stop the financial bleeding

It takes time but it is rewarding. Regarding getting denied for cards, tell us more about your credit profile - income, FICO, debts, negative entries on your CR, HP, SP etc.

Message 2 of 8
coldnmn
Mega Contributor