cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full time student trying to establish credit

tag
Lampshade27

Full time student trying to establish credit

Hello all. I'm looking for some advice on establishing credit. I am 22 years old and I am a full-time student as of this spring semester (and will likely be one for the next several years). I live with my parents and work part time. I really want to start getting credit so I can have a shot at actually getting a house someday. I have no credit currently, no student loans, no credit cards, nothing. It was either one year or two years ago that I applied for some Capital One card and was denied due to not having credit. Now I'm paranoid to apply for anything else for fear of another hard pull. So here are my significant details that may affect my ability to get credit:

*I have been employed for only six months straight and make around $400-500 a month (and also self-employed for many years)

*Again, recently became full time student

*No housing payments

*Denied for credit one or two years ago

*Total balance of bank accounts is under $1k

Other things to note are that I recently received a "pre-approved" application for a Discover It card in the mail. I researched this and received conflicting information. There is an opt out number on the bottom so it does appear to be one of the actually "pre-approved" apps. I fear applying for it as I suspect I'd be denied. Also, it seems many apps want to know yearly income, but this has not been stable for me year to year so how does one calculate this? 

That's it for now. Thanks in advance Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
CollegeStudent530
Regular Contributor

Re: Full time student trying to establish credit