Future Credit Card Choice - Possibly CSP

tag
ak282

Future Credit Card Choice - Possibly CSP

Hello,

I currently have two credit cards:

1) Wells Fargo Cash Back 1% - $2400 limit - Since Dec 2010

2) Chase Slate Card - $700 limit - Since March 2013

I have never made a late payment, I have had high util in the past, but currently the chase is at 0 and the WF is under 10, and I have an income of $48k. I am a recent college graduate with a work history of about two years.

I would not like to have too many cards; preferably I would like to apply for the Chase Sapphire Preferred as it matches many of my spending habits and because I could then consolidate my Chase Slate credit limit to increase the CSP limit.

My questions are:

1) What are my chances of being approved for the CSP? Would I be better off requesting credit limit increases on both my cards, waiting a few months then applying?

2) Should I try to product change my chase slate card to a freedom or regular sapphire?

3) Are there any other cards out there that you would reccomend?

Thank You

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
bmis42988
New Contributor

Re: Future Credit Card Choice - Possibly CSP

What does your Credit Report look like? INQ's, baddies, scores etc. My friend has a 50% util, 3 inq's at the time with a 725 score and was instantly approved for 5k.

TU: 687 EQ: 670 EX: 665
Message 2 of 16
myjourney
Super Contributor

Welcome to the forum

IMHO I would wait at least 6-12 months Chase likes to see history atfer a recent approval

Before you app think...
Have you done your research of the CC?
Does it fit your spending?
Do you have a plan for the bonus w/o going into debt?
Can you afford the AF?
Do you know the cards benefits? Is it worth the HP?
Message 3 of 16
ak282