Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GEMB Accounts

tag
rmonoson
Established Member

GEMB Accounts

I've read a lot on these forums (I'm a newbie here) and I have a about 6 GEMB accounts... I never thought anything of it, but from what I have read... they are considered "bad"... is this true? Am I missing something? Should I get rid of them?

My scores are NOT good due to a BK that was discharged back in May 2002, but since then (for obvious reasons) getting credit has been difficult.  GEMB accounts are all I can seem to get.

What is GEMB, and why are they bad?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Robert
Jax,Fl.
------------------------------
As of 9/4/09: EX: 664, EQ: 664, TR: 664
Message 1 of 35
34 REPLIES 34
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Re: GEMB Accounts

It's probably my posts you've been reading, sorry. The accounts are not bad, it's just that the customer service frequently (not always) is awful. I was talking to a Lowe's employee (used to work at Home Depot) who said that they have problems with their contractors being able to charge materials, because their payments are slow to post.

I wouldn't get rid of them, just be very careful to hang on to your statements, payment records, etc., and if a problem occurs, stay on top of it until it's resolved. One poster here said it took 2 years for them to resolve an Old Navy account, and his scores were affected until it was finally fixed.

Didn't mean to rattle you, I apologize! Smiley Tongue
* Credit is a wonderful servant, but a terrible master. * Who's the boss --you or your credit?
FICO's: EQ 781 - TU 793 - EX 779 (from PSECU) - Done credit hunting; having fun with credit gardening. - EQ 590 on 5/14/2007
Message 2 of 35
Anonymous
Not applicable

hauling is right. I have dillards card with GEMB and I made a payment over a week

ago and it is still not posted yet.

I am not using that card anymore.

Message 3 of 35
jackg
Established Contributor

rmonoson,