Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting Penalty APR Lowered

tag
shane82388
Established Contributor

Getting Penalty APR Lowered

I've been paying down my Capital One card that was way over the limit and now im a good ways under and all is well and getting better.

So long story short, hit a fairly big rough patch a while back, credit went to hell, but is recovering steadily. I didnt have much history before that to begin with as im only 22 and have credit for just a few years. I've been making every payment on time since October of 2009. This over a year by my calculation, and as far as I know, Capital One is supposed to revert you back to your normal interest rate after 6 months of on time payments...yet im still paying 29.40% interest.

Is this possibly because I was over the limit, yet making the payments on time?

Or is it just something I need to request be adjusted?

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
Travis-84
Regular Contributor

Re: Getting Penalty APR Lowered

I pulled the terms and conditions from one cap 1 credit card, here is what it says

"29.4%.
This APR will vary with the market based on the Prime Rate.
This APR may be applied to your account if you make a late payment.
How Long Will the Penalty APR Apply?: If APRs are increased for a payment that is more than 60 days late, the Penalty APR will apply indefinitely unless you make the next six consecutive minimum payments on time following the rate increase."