cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting a credit card with no credit history.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Getting a credit card with no credit history.

I'm a college student with a student account at chase bank little over a year now.

I want to start building credit.

How and where should I start? Advice? Suggestions?

I tried applying for chase freedom card but rejected 

" Few revovlving accounts opened long enough to establish credit history"

"Not enough accounts opened long enough to establish a credit histyory"

Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
HiLine
Blogger

Re: Getting a credit card with no credit history.

Bank of America's Bankamericard Cash Rewards secured credit card is the way to go. I did this, and 10 months later got a Visa Signature and an Amex in my portfolio.

Message 2 of 22
bs6054
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm a college student with a student account at chase bank little over a year now.

What about applying for a student card.  Chase has one called Chase +, which has some odd requirements (like needing a facebook account) and gives gift cards.  Don't know much about it, but since you already have a relationship with Chase it might be worth a try.  Otherwise,  I would recommend Capital One Journey card for students.  My freshman daughter just got one with no problem.   Gives 1% back, + a bonus .25% if you pay on time each month.

Or, as others have said, you can try a secure card from a good lender.

Message 3 of 22
HiLine
Blogger

@bs6054 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote: