cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Going to Paris/Oktoberfest - looking for advice

tag
Color

Going to Paris/Oktoberfest - looking for advice

Allow me to introduce myself. I'm a mid-twenties professional in the Philly area and looking to expand my card portfolio. I've been an authorized user of my parent's Mastercard for a number of years which shows up in my Equifax report on myFICO but I only have one card that is in my name alone, a simple 1% cash back Visa card from my local bank that I got earlier this year in March.

I'm planning a trip to Oktoberfest next year and looking for advice on a card. The plan is two days in Paris and five in Munich. No foreign transaction fee is a must it seems, and would an EMV chip be required? I have been lurking for a little while here and I see a lot of CSP recommendations, but I don't know if I can justify the annual fee. How easy is it to switch down to the non-preferred version of the card if I'm not spending enough? Does that show up as a closed card and a new opening in my reports? I'm fairly confident I would be approved with an Equifax FICO of 780, but Chase hasn't sent me any offers in the mail, unlike AMEX which sent me an RSVP for their Platinum card not too long ago (the offer is expired now).

The other concern I have is that the CSP is another Visa if my research is correct, and my instinct tells me I don't want to be stuck in Germany with just Visa in the case of a critical spend not being accepted. Do I take a rating hit by applying for an AMEX and/or Mastercard with no annual fee like the BCE? What is the deal with AMEX and membership length anyway?