Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Got in over my head.. Now what?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Got in over my head.. Now what?

So I'm a 19 y/o college student that ever sense I turned 18 have been working on my credit. Shortly after my 19th b-day I was able to purchase a new car in my own name (w/out a consigner) because of it. But I was a victim of a internet scam ( paid for a motorcycle, to by shipped to me...) and with black Friday this last year I purchased a lot of stuff. Not thinking about the repercussions of my actions. Now I'm about 10k deep in CC debts and it seems that ever payment I make is only paying the interest. (literally like on 20-30 dollars toward principle..) so I guess I am just looking for a way out of this. Preferably without ruining my credit. (i.e. Bankruptcy, if that's even an option...) but I just am literally in over my head and I can barely put gas in my car now after I make these payments where as a year ago I had money to burn ( and my income hasn't changed..) I have 5 CC's and all I'm afraid to say are nearly maxed.

please any advise is considered and much appreciated.

Mike

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Got in over my head.. Now what?

Hey Bud,

Sorry to hear about your problems.  It sure does suck getting into trouble like that.

This link may help you, for people "Knee deep in debt"

http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre19.shtm

Hope it helps.

Message Edited by Jormungand on 02-24-2009 12:41 PM
Message 2 of 12
Scamp
Valued Contributor

micha3l wrote: