Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grace period clarification

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Grace period clarification

I think I understand how this works now after some confusion (keep in mind I'm still rather new to regularly using credit cards for daily purchases), so please let me know if I've got this correct or not. Thanks!

My credit card has a statement date of the 22nd of every month and a due date of the 19th of every month. If I am understanding grace periods correctly, then a charge made on June 1 is fully processed on June 2 and included in the statement for June 22, and therefore not actually due to be paid until July 19. Likewise, charges that occur and are fully processed (not pending) by June 22 will all collectively be due to be paid on July 19. All charges processed after June 22 and by July 22 will therefore be on the following statement and thus due on August 19. No interest would be assessed for any of these charges as long as they were correctly paid in full on the due date for the statement of which they were a part.

Now, if I paid at least the minimum but less than the total due on July 19, then any remaining balance - in addition to all new charges - would be subject to interest on the July 22 statement / August 19 payment AND August 22 statement / September 19 payment until such time as I paid the full statement balance 2 months in a row or otherwise paid the total balance of the card down to zero.

All of which means that the grace period for which no interest is charged on a purchase varies from time of purchase to time of payment for purchase between 25-55 days depending on what day of month the item was purchased, provided statements continue to be paid in full.