Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP! Confused about AMEX SPG

tag
dodfire
Valued Contributor

HELP! Confused about AMEX SPG

Ok so I am new to this card. And new to all the point systems in general so sorry if this is a dumb question..but...

I am planning a trip for July.

In order to get the maximum benefit of this card do I need to book the resort from AMEX travel website and pay with my SPG.

or

Book through SPG.COM and also pay with SPG or use any card?

*8/10/13
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
dodfire
Valued Contributor

Re: HELP! Confused about AMEX SPG

65 views but no answers. Smiley Sad

Where are my SPG users??

*8/10/13
Message 2 of 7
CS800
Super Contributor

dod, it would be best if you call AMEX directly.

I use my platinum and always book through them and pay with the Paltinum. I'm also curious as to how the points system works if lets say you booked through Expedia.

Message 3 of 7
cjcharv

@dodfire wrote:

Ok so I am new to this card. And new to all the point systems in general so sorry if this is a dumb question..but...

I am planning a trip for July.

In order to get the maximum benefit of this card do I need to book the resort from AMEX travel website and pay with my SPG.

or

Book through SPG.COM and also pay with SPG or use any card?

I think you are correct with booking through Amex Travel site but you may want to contact Amex to make sure.

Message 4 of 7
Walt_K
Senior Contributor

You get 2 points per dollar for spend at SPG hotels with your SPG Amex.  You also get 2 points per dollar for spend at SPG hotels for being an SPG member.  If you are SPG Gold or Platinum, you get an extra point per dollar for spend at SPG hotels for your elite status.  And if you stay there a lot (can't remember if it is 75 or 100 nights, I think 75 nitghs), you get another 1 point per dollar for being uber-elite.