Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! Best Course of Action with New AMEX CC <--Noob Here

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help! Best Course of Action with New AMEX CC <--Noob Here

Hi all:

I posted a question on here under Credit Card approvals - similar but this maybe taken different if anyone already experienced!

I was borderline approved with AMEX when I tried for BCE and I was countered offer for $500 SL which I accepted. Anyway, 5 days later almost all of my baddies were out of Experian and I was approved for BCP for $5,000 CL. Since my initial card was pulled from few days sooner before my baddies are gone, I think asking for CLI will not be approved. What do you guys think my best course of action?

1.) Call and ask if they can match my BCP of $5,000?

2.) Tried to request during activation and "Denied" due to my credit score...

3.) Ask to cancel this card and apply for different one that I think I will be able to get a better SL?

Thanks all your time! I really appreciate any input!

18 REPLIES 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Help! Best Course of Action with New AMEX CC <--Noob Here

First off, congratulations on both approvals. The second one came with a good startling limit. If it were me, I would wait to ask for a cli on the first. Put some use on it as well as the second one. I don't see Amex taking your card from a $500 limit to matching the other one. Most of the time with their cli's, it is up to 3x the current limit. I would wait and ask for a cli on the $5k limit, asking for $15k. If approved at that time, ask to have $5k moved from that card to the one with the $500 limit.

Message 2 of 19
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: