Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help...BoA ruined credit!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help...BoA ruined credit!

My husband and I have been considering buying our first house for a few months now. We decided to check his credit score before we were serious about applying for pre-approval. We were horrified when we found six 30 day delinquencies on his Bank of America credit card from February to July. My husband had called Bank of America back in February to negotiate lowering his interest rate because although he was paying more than the minimum each month it was nowhere near being paid down. He successfully had the interest rate lowered and was asked to pay a balance of $137 to "bring it to current". Since February he has paid more than the minimum balance each month and we have bank statements showing our payments. We immediately called Bank of America when we found these delinquencies and they are arguing that our account was $600 past due in February and the payments we've been making each month since were to pay that off, not the card. We informed Bank of America that we weren't told this. We were told the $137 would bring the account to current, not a payment of $600. The representative from Bank of America told us "she isn't privy to our prior conversations but our account is current now so there shouldn't be any problems". Our ruined credit is a problem! I have absolutely no idea how to handle this. I feel like it's a case of "He said, She said". We never received any notices that our account was delinquent and I feel like whoever my husband spoke to on the phone in February lied to us. Is there anything we can do to fix this? Or do we just suck it up and move on?
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Help...BoA ruined credit!

Hopeless,

Was this not reported/visible in your monthly statements?

Message 2 of 6
SmartCookie
Valued Contributor