Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Me!! Best method to bring my SCORE up? Credit Cards

tag
Kixforpa
Contributor

Help Me!! Best method to bring my SCORE up? Credit Cards

Good Afternoon;

I currently have 100% utl and have about a $2000.00 revolving credit limit divided into about 6 cards. The lowest card has a $200.00 limit and the highest limit card is $500.00. How should I pay this off? Next month I am going to get alittle bit of extra money so I can technically pay the whole amount off with no problem. Or should I break it down in to a few payments? Meaning next month bring it down to 75%, June bring it down to 50% and July 25% percent and finally in August less than 10%? Whats your honest opinion? I have not missed a single payment for the past year and half since I been building my credit. . I have been sending the minium for the past 3 months, I am student and part-time employee. Previous to this the cards were payed off. I need to bring my scores up!  I am currently sitting about 550 Transunion and Exquifax FICO score... I will like to get above 600 and keep rising!

~Rebuilding Our Lives~
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
aftermath
Established Contributor

Re: Help Me!! Best method to bring my SCORE up? Credit Cards

Pay off 5 of your cards to $0 immediately.  Keep a balance of <10% of your credit limit on your 6th card.

Give everything about a month to report to the credit bureaus.

Purchase your FICO here.

This should bring up your scores to high 600's.

American Express Blue Cash Everyday $6600
Barclays US Airways Premier World Mastercard $14500
Chase Sapphire Preferred $5000
Chase Freedom Visa $1000
Chase United Explorer $8500
Citi AAdvantage Platinum Select Visa Signature $7500
Citi ThankYou Premier World Mastercard $7500
Message 2 of 3
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Re: Help Me!! Best method to bring my SCORE up? Credit Cards

Pay them all off, all at once. No benefit in dragging it out.