Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Newbie!

tag
VikingsLoyalFan
Valued Member

Help Newbie!

Hi guys this is my first post! I have been following this forum for about 10 months and it has greatly improved my credit. My fico went from a 518 to 639 in 10 months. My husband and I recently went to speak to a loan officer about a rural home loan. His credit is 551 (fico score). He makes 2 1/2 times the amount I do; however, no loan is possible with him on there. So needless to say I had to do it on my measly 12 dollar an hour job (I am also a full time student). With that said, he came back with a loan offer that blew my mind. I got approved for 100k house (which here is a lot of house in rural GA), low mortgage payments and no money down, with an APR of 3.7% however, needing one more point.

Now here is my dilemma, we mainly went to speak with him to see where to start, how to better our credit, and ask all the questions with the intention of buying a house in March (if there was a possibility). He urged me to open another line of credit. I have my school loans since I started almost 11 months ago, perfect pay on time, and a first premier card for going on 8 months perfect on time paying. So I followed his advice and applied for Capital one, speaking to the lady for over 45 mins before applying.

I gave her everything on my credit so she knew which would be the best to apply for. I only had one hard inquiry on my credit (from the loan officer above). After her telling me to go safe and apply for the rebuilding credit card, I was denied. I have no idea why yet as I have not received the letter. Now I feel like I am stuck between a rock and a hard place. I was one point under 640 before the loan to get the best rate possible, and now I have 2 hard inquiries on my credit.