Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help credit card application for a student

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help credit card application for a student

I've just recently really started being aware of my credit and tracking it. A quick back ground first, I'm a student and because of that I am unemployed. I rent my apartment. The credit in my history consists of 2 school loans which have been paid off, and one credit card that I've had for almost 4 years. I pulled my Transunion and Equifax reports and both fall into the 770's range. The majority of the reason why my score is so high is because my parents have helped me pay off school loans and bills, but I'm trying to be more responsible for myself.

So that brings me to here, I want to apply for a cash back credit card, specifically the Capital One Cash Credit Card for my every day purchases.. Everything I've seen tells me I should be able to be accepted for this card, being that my credit falls into the excellent range, and Capital Ones one system tells me that I pre qualify for this card. I wont need to be carrying a balance from month to month or making transfers, just for month expenses that I will pay off in full. Being that I am new to credit card applications, I am slightly apprehensive answering questions on the form such as " monthly rent" and "Annual Income". My rent is about 300 a month but that and my living expenses are paid for by my parents on the agreement that when I finish school I will pay them back, rather than going through a lender. 

My question is do you think its wise for me to apply for this card now, or should I wait for a more opportune time when I have an income to report, and if I am safe in applying for this card, how should I answer the rent/income questions? I don't want it to appear as though I'm spending 300 a month and brining in nothing, when thats not really the case.

Any help will be really appreciated.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Guava