Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me determine what to do next

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help me determine what to do next

I am an authorized user on my husbands 3 cards and I've never had credit before this. My report looks this way:

Wamu     $3500 limit balance 400 age of acct 5 months
Bof A       $2500 limit balance 0     age 13 months
CapOne  $750   limit balance 0     age 4 months

My score is 729 ( I got the score from Scorewatch Equifax today ) and I would like to get my own cards since my husband is envious that my scores are slightly higher than his....lol.

Please help us to decide what cc I should apply for? My husband reads this forum everyday and he says that I can get the best direction here. Thank you all.

Message 1 of 30
29 REPLIES 29
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Help me determine what to do next

bump
Message 2 of 30
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am by no means an expert, but your score is higher than the scores of some people here who have Discover and AMEX cards. I understand those are good ones to have.

You will definitley get better cards than I have. If I had that score I would try Citi for one of their prime cards, maybe Chase? I understand from reading here their Freedom Rewards card is a good one. Maybe in a few years I will qualify for a prime card.

Message 3 of 30
jaybird201
Established Contributor

I'd say first take a look at your bank's or credit union's website. If they offer you a good card, I'd stick with them (If you've been pleased with their service thus far).

With your scores you'll almost certainly qualify for a no annual fee rewards card. You might not get approved for some of the higher-end cards due to your short credit history, but that'll come with time.

Here are some suggestions:

If you or a family member are or have been in the military