cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help regarding "Over Credit Limit" with Discover it!

tag
DavidZeng
Regular Contributor

Help regarding "Over Credit Limit" with Discover it!

Hi guys, I am new here! Having been digging tons of useful information and advice from here, I am really appreciated all the help from the forum.

I am new to credit card (in U.S.). I just got Discover it ($500)  and Chase Freedom ($600) a week ago, due to my zero credit history here. Since it is holiday season, I plan to do several large purchase online. You know the problem, my very crappy credit limit. So I talked to discover and they told me that I can indeed pre-transfer some money from my bank to Discover and make large purchase, around $2200 dollars. Here is my concern. The Discover guy say that if I transfer cash from my bank in advance, I will not be considered over credit limit with them. But they can not gurantee no damage with the credit bureaus. 

I have enough to pay my bills in full, and plan to pay in full with all my purchase, but I just want the 5% cash back from the card, so will this be considered as over limit? If so, how will this damage my credit scores since I am still a thin file, I suppose.

Thanks guys! Please give me some advice~ XD

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Startome
Regular Contributor

Re: Help regarding "Over Credit Limit" with Discover it!

Hey there, if I were you, I'd send them a big payment early, and once I see it all post to the CC, then make my purchases. For example, if you plan to buy 1500 worth of stuff on a 500 limit card, send them a payment for 1500, once you see your balance on Online Banking show -1,500, you're good to go, as any purchases you make will eat out of your negative balance, instead of adding a positive balance =)

Current: EQ FICO 0, TU FICO 0, EX FICO 0 | Starting Score: 0 (08/21/2013)

Starting total revolving credit: $0 | Current total revolving credit: $1600.00