Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with CC APR's!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help with CC APR's!!

Okay, I'm very new at this!! It's my first post!!  Here goes....My fico's are below, I hope...They are all in the mid 600's....History...I had stolen identity by a close family member who got a Discover and AMEX in my name while I was in college....I did not want to press charges, therefore, I got stuck with the mess....I also made some mistakes myself along the way with Providian and am dealing with that....well needless to say I have been working on them for a couple of years.....Well now I have a few credit cards...okay more than a few...but I REALLY want to pay them off/down so that we can purchase another house....we got an awful rate on our first home....but we are paying it anyway with help from a modification from 11%-7% (thanks to good ole W)....2 Cap 1's, Merrick(hate it), and HH....all of them have been opened for at least 4 years....but the APR's suck the highest is Merrick which is 24%(I know, I know), The lowest is Cap 1 12.14% (not good, but better than Merrick)...so I have been reading the forums and tried calling the CC to see if I could bait them to lower my APR.....well HH fell for the bait....they went from 28.99(highway robbery) decreased to 15.99 (yeah) after speaking with the supervisor (the CS rep straight told me no), Merrick stated that they did not have a lower rate, Cap 1 just waived my yearly $29 fee and gave me a $300 CL on the other card (whoopee, I know)....but it was something....Now I just don't know what to do about Merrick.....I have had the card for four years and now since they won't lower my APR....would it be beneficial or disastrous to close the card???  Should I actually try to get another card and do a balance transfer or should I pay it off and sock draw it???  The CL is $1350 and I owe about $1000....I know that is really bad, but I am learning about utilization thanks to this forum!!  Please