Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High credit limits

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

High credit limits

Hi everyone,
I'm fairly new here and in a sense to credit cards in general (although I've been using them for many years). I've been browsing around through various credit card forums and have noticed that people get really competitive and really excited over credit limits...which some of them are sky high.

Can I ask why? It can't be merely because it can improve your credit score, or is it? what is the point of having a $15,000 max?

In addition, going off on a tangent, why do so many people have such high reward cards with such high limits? Wouldn't it take forever to reach a reward?
I also get the impression that cc experts don't pay of their bill fully each month (but maybe leave a dollar or two)....true?
Message 1 of 27
26 REPLIES 26
kdm31091
Super Contributor

Re: High credit limits

I don't really understand this part of the question "high reward cards with high limits to reach the reward" unless you mean rewards cards with high spending requirements for a bonus, in which case no, they don't make sense for everyone. You have to have that level of spending or else you're just spending extra to get a bonus which makes less sense.

People want high limit cards for utilization primarily. The less you use out of your available credit overall, the better. Now, I think the obsession sometimes goes a little too far with having 3x your income in credit limits, but that's not the common person here. Most just have a large buffer for utilization. Almost no one spends up to their limits, otherwise your score will tank.

I'm satisfied with my limits and don't feel the need to chase more.

Message 2 of 27
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:
Hi everyone,