Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Credit Card Companies Evaluate us

tag
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

How Credit Card Companies Evaluate us

I have been looking at how CCC’s assess their risk in issuing new cards.  I am a patent attorney, but my FICO friends, please do not hold that against me!  LOL!

Well, being a FICO-holic, I did a patent search on credit card company evaluation and scoring of applicants for new credit cards, and found an extremely interesting patent that contains surprising input on how credit card companies evaluate applicants. While most scoring models used to create both FICO scores themselves and the related models used by banks to assess credit worthiness for issuance of new cards are kept as closely-guarded trade secrets, First USA Bank applied for a patent in 1998, which issued in 2001 (U.S. Patent No. 6,202,053, which can be viewed to the Patent Office website. This put their scoring methodology in the public domain.

I wont bore you with details of their process, but it is basically this.  The bottom line for them was to estimate, when issuing a new card, the statistical probability that the account would become “bad” within the next two years.  “Bad” simply means and account that will go 60+ days delinquent in the next two years.

So, if you are still with me, this is what they did.  They statistically broke down the general population into 7 categories, listed below, that are recognized credit risk categories…. They then looked at actual credit reports for those in each category, and developed statistics on the percent of total population that would fall into each category, and then developed stats for each category, disclosed in the patent, of those in each category that later had a delinquency of 60 days or more.  They used that to project the probability, when issuing a card, of its risk to them.

Here are the results, and my reading of them.

First, definitions of the categories they used: