Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I improve my rewards?

tag
NewSurrender
Contributor

How can I improve my rewards?

So, trying to squeeze every last penny I can out of my rewards cards (You should see me out with friends and family, if I see anyone paying with cash, I'll take their cash and put it on my card). I'm a broke college student, so any little bit I can save/earn helps, plus as someone who only started recently used credit cards, I love seeing the rewards add up. So, I'm wondering what improvements I can make to this rewards strategy.

I currently have a Discover More, BoA 123, Capital One Journey, and Amex Zync. I'm going to garden until the winter, then apply for Amex BCE and Chase Freedom. Here's my plan for rewards.

Gas: 3% [BoA 123]

Groceries: 2% [BoA]. When I get my BCE, it'll be 3% for groceries.

Restaurants/Dining: 1.25% [Cap1]

Department Stores: 1.25% [Cap 1], 2% with BCE

Movies/Entertainment/Books/Etc: 1.25% [Cap 1]

Everyday Purchases: 1.25% [Cap 1]

How can I improve that? Off the top of my head, I know there's a 1.50% Cap 1 card, but I'm looking to stay far away from that company. I know for dining there's the Amex TE card, but I barely eat out (Rarely, and it's usually fast food or such, nothing expensive), and I'm not looking to pay an annual fee. I know there's also the 2% Fidelity card for everyday purchases, but I already have two FIA cards, and don't have a Fidelity account to deposit the rewards into.

Any suggestions? Keep in mind if a card has an AF, it's probably not worth it for me (Hence why I want a BCE, not a BCP).

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Crashem
Valued Contributor

Re: How can I improve my rewards?