cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I make it to a Citi AAdvantage card?

tag
CreditJim
Established Contributor

How do I make it to a Citi AAdvantage card?

I fly American Airlines a lot and would like a credit card that helps my accumulate miles faster. I would use it for all purchases and pay in full each month.

At the moment I have (in chronological order):

- Capital One Platinum Mastercard ($300 limit - never used anymore)

- Capital One Platinum Rewards Mastercard ($750 limit after Credit Steps)

- SWACU Credit Union Visa ($1000 limit)

- Capital One Spark Visa Business ($750)

- Apple Barclaycard (just got an automatic 6 month CLI from $1200 to $2200)

I currently have a zero balance (reporting as 2% utilization still). I have an auto loan I've been paying for the past 2 years with about $14k remaining, never missed any payments. I have an old baddie (BoA charge off of around $800) and this seems to be hindering my score from raising much above 600. I only have fako scores at the moment. I haven't applied for anything in the past 6 months, since I was accepted for the Apple Barclaycard, however I do still have 11 hard inquiries from past credit card applications and a couple of rounds of auto loan applications. So that's been putting me off applying for anything else and trying to carefully plan my next application, which I really want to be one of the Aadvantage credit cards. A few of the hard inquiries should be falling off at the end of 2012, so I was thinking about applying for one of them in January. I make at least $7k per month.

Any advice about this plan would be greatfully received. The credit cards I have aren't much use to me but I want to make sure that I have a good chance of getting the next one I apply for, and the only one I'm interested in is the Citi Aadvantage. I used to have their Aadvantage Debit card which was great as I earnt thousands of miles a month from my regular purchases...