cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does paying before statement build credit?

tag
loviedovie
Regular Contributor

How does paying before statement build credit?

Just curious, I know the right way to do it per forum consensus is pay every card off in full each month before the statement cuts. How then does it report that I am using/building "credit" when really I am just using my credit card as a debit card?

Starting Score: 580
Current Score: 754
Goal Score: 800

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 27
26 REPLIES 26
AQ
New Contributor

Re: How does paying before statement build credit?

I'm a newbie to this credit building, but it's my (limited) understanding that your report should still show what you put on your card each month, regardless of whether you pay it off in full.  This is only my understanding.  So, that being said, if it's accurate, my goal is to only charge around 10% on a card and still pay it off in full, and to never go over 30%.  I'm open to suggestions on this as well! 

I think what they are looking for is that you are making a regular monthly payment and not utilizing more than 30% of your credit.  The less the better. 

Starting Score: TU 641 2/28/13 EQ 640 3/1/13
Current Score: TU706 EQ???
Goal Score: 750 750

Message 2 of 27
loviedovie
Regular Contributor

@AQ wrote:

I'm a newbie to this credit building, but it's my (limited) understanding that your report should still show what you put on your card each month, regardless of whether you pay it off in full.  This is only my understanding.  So, that being said, if it's accurate, my goal is to only charge around 10% on a card and still pay it off in full, and to never go over 30%.  I'm open to suggestions on this as well! 

I think what they are looking for is that you are making a regular monthly payment and not utilizing more than 30% of your credit.  The less the better.