Regular Contributor
RachelRachel

How long should I wait to apply for a CC from credit union?

Hello.  I enrolled in a new credit union last month mostly because I needed to cash some savings bonds and my other smaller credit union couldn't do it.

But, now that I am a member, I am thinking I should try to get a credit card with them.  I have a mastercard $1,000 limit with my other credit union, an Applied Bank Visa with $500 limit, and a Chase (formerly WaMu) flexible rewards Visa with $2,500 limit.  Since Chase started doing their purges, I am just waiting for the guillitine to strike so I feel like I need additional credit since Chase is my highest limit card.  And, I figure my chances are better before Chase cuts me, right?  (or maybe it won't matter??)

What do you all think?  Should I apply now or wait? 

Thanks!

~Rachel

FICO EQ 649 7/21/09

Moderator Emerita
Community Leader
Epic Contributor
haulingthescoreup

Re: How long should I wait to apply for a CC from credit union?

What shape are your reports in?

What's your reported CC util?

Any chance you can increase your EQ by reducing util and/or waiting for some accounts or baddies to have birthdays? (one year old, two years old, etc.)

Since you already have a relationship with the CU, you might try printing out that FICO EQ score report in your siggy and showing it to the CU loan officer. Tell him/ her that it's a Beacon 5.0 report, consumer version, with the same stuff on it as what they pull, just a bit shorter, and ask if that type of report and FICO score would qualify you for a card. This might save you an inq for a denial.

Did they pull a report with a hard inq for your banking? If so, do you know if they would use that same report again for a CC app?
* Credit is a wonderful servant, but a terrible master. * Who's the boss --you or your credit?
FICO's: EQ 781 - TU 793 - EX 779 (from PSECU) - Done credit hunting; having fun with credit gardening. - EQ 590 on 5/14/2007
Regular Contributor