cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long until AMEX payment is processed with bank?

tag
Matt4776

How long until AMEX payment is processed with bank?

Hey all,

To make a long story short, I got myself into a bit of a sticky situation. My good friend needed to borrow a good sum of money, and promised to repay me weeks ago. Of course, that never happened, and my PRG is due today. It also happens that I had booked two study abroad international flights on the PRG for this cycle, so my bill is quite high. High enough that I won't be able to pay it off without my money back (I'm a poor college student, so it's not like I have a large savings to pull from or anything). He said he would be home at 10 pm and can Chase Quickpay me then, but my bill is due at 9 pm I believe. Obviously, you need to pay the PRG in full, so it's not like I can just pay the minimum and then pay the balance a few hours later.

So, my question is, how long does it take to draw the funds from your account after you press pay on the AMEX website? I know this could be playing with fire, but I don't want to have a late payment with AMEX, even if it is only a few hours! In case it gets processed quickly, is a bounced payment better or worse for your relationship than a late payment fee? 

Thanks guys!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Involver
Valued Contributor

Re: How long until AMEX payment is processed with bank?

You can pay up until 8 pm MST to have the payment credited to your account on that date.

When I pay I am credited immediately and the payment is pulled from my bank account the following day.

I would not trust your friend to pay you today considering he's already made you wait weeks.

Lesson learned:  don't loan your friends money.

Don't push the payment until you have the cash.  I don't think a bounced payment would look better than a late one.

Message 2 of 10
snowkitty
Established Contributor