Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many inquiries are too many?

tag
OroroMunroe
Contributor

How many inquiries are too many?

After reading a few threads about cards that are inquiry sensitive, I'm left wondering how credit grantors decide how many inquiries are considered too many. For example, do they have a certain number that they are guided by? I recently applied for and was approved for a card that most folks on the forum have labeled "inquiry sensitive" (Nordstrom). I have an obscene number of inquiries because I can't seem to stay in the garden (maybe because it's too cold outside- haha), and my scores are not great (I haven't broken into the 750 club). What are your experiences? How many are too many? 5? 10? 30? I look forward to your responses! 

Message 1 of 28
27 REPLIES 27
Callandra
Valued Contributor

Re: How many inquiries are too many?

Inquiries are just one part of your profile; obviously some lenders may be more sensitive to them (especially recent inquiries) but your whole credit profile matters. Those with older/thicker files don't feel the sting as much with inquiries. Keep in mind here that most people are (re) builders and often apply for a lot of credit quickly than the general population. I only have a handful of inquiries between all three bureaus since I relatively haven't applied for much credit. I personally think more than 5-7 is a lot but I know there are people who have like 30+. 

Quicksilver $10,000 | Better Balance Rewards $2000 | Sallie Mae $3500 | Freedom $3500

Last HP: 9/27/2015
Message 2 of 28
Anonymous
Not applicable

Impossible to answer with any degree of certainty since "too many" varies by credit profile. For somebody with a thin file, high utilization, and an AAoA of 12 months, 3 or 4 might be too many. For somebody with a thick file, very long history and low utilization, 20 might not be too many.

Message 3 of 28
My_Fako
Established Contributor

Is 6 total and 3inq  6 months old bad?