cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much gain can a new card give you? (in terms of credit score)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How much gain can a new card give you? (in terms of credit score)

Hello!  I am new to credit rebuilding and got an auto loan in march which I have been diligently paying early payments on.  My score has increased from a 470 to a 577 in just 8 months.  I am really trying to get over the 600 hump.  Last week I got approved for a Capital One card with a $300 limit but it has 0% interest and I wanted to get it to help boost my score.  If I use the card responsibly and continue to make early payments on my car, could I expect to reach the 600 mark within a few months?

Basically I want to know if anyone has had experience in how much your credit score goes up when you get a new credit card and use it properly.

I know it takes a long time to build up your credit score, but I was hoping that getting this card could help me expedite the process.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: How much gain can a new card give you? (in terms of credit score)

When I was in a similar situation to yours, I saw a score bump on Equifax of about 37 points. To give you some context to my specific situation: I had a bankruptcy, didn't do anything credit related till four years later, got an auto loan and a few months later got a Capital One credit card with a $300 limit.

Obviously your experience will be different but I would guess that you'll see anywhere between a 12-40 point increase for opening a new trade-line and having low/zero utilization on it.

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you!  Do you recommend just charging a small amount and paying it off immediately?

Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

Thank you!  Do you recommend just charging a small amount and paying it off immediately?