Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to BT w/Citi

tag
bichonmom
Senior Contributor

How to BT w/Citi

I just got a 0% Citi CC and I want to BT my Navy balance. I've never done this before. My Navy is due on the 16th and I haven't rec'd my Citi card yet.

What's the process for this? Do I have to have rec'd and activated my Citi card before I BT? How long does the BT take before it posts w/Navy?

Thanks! Smiley Happy

EQ FICO 750 | TU FICO 761 (Walmart) | EX FAKO 767 | Goal: 800+

Edits, funky spacing and spelling due to my iPad not getting along with the forum editor!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
AF_23
Frequent Contributor

Re: How to BT w/Citi

It should have asked you at time of application, but if you declined then look online if you have access to a Citi account for a BT offer or simply call them. They will ask for the creditor (NAVY) ,account number you have with them as well, and balance amount you want credited. It can take up 2 weeks, so make sure you make at least a minumum payment at all costs for your Navy account this month.

Message 2 of 7
scientifics
Frequent Contributor

@bichonmom wrote:

I just got a 0% Citi CC and I want to BT my Navy balance. I've never done this before. My Navy is due on the 16th and I haven't rec'd my Citi card yet.

What's the process for this? Do I have to have rec'd and activated my Citi card before I BT? How long does the BT take before it posts w/Navy?

Thanks! Smiley Happy

You can call Citi on the phone to initiate the BT (so you don't have to recevie the card first). All you will need is the Navy credit card number and the amount your want to transfer. HOWEVER, it can take up to 2 weeks, so I wouldn't rely on it to post before your Navy account is due.

Message 3 of 7
RockinRay
Valued Contributor

@scientifics wrote:

@bichonmom wrote:

Thanks! Smiley Happy