Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make Citi like me?

tag
skigirl916
Established Contributor

How to make Citi like me?

So, I'm a little bitter when it comes to Citi.

I've been banking with them for almost two decades. I have a pristine relationship with them. Absolutely perfect. I have one credit card with them, the Universal Thank You Rewards. When they issued it to me in 1997, it had a 2500 limit. At one point around 2003, it had a 2200 balance that was quickly paid down (used it for moving expenses; company only took a card and I didn't know better to pay it before statement hit).

In 2008, they unilaterally CLD'd me to $520 (my balance at the time) when my FICO dropped 30 points from a missed student loan payment.

For the past year, I've tried to CLI - always denied until recently when they raised me to $1320. Such a weird limit. I tried to recon that and get more, and they said no. My CRs still show $2200 as the high balance, despite it not being that high in 11 years. Can they do that??

Earlier last month, around the same time as my CLI, I tried for the Citi Simplicity card. Denied.

All the while, I added $20K in limits to my profile.

**bleep** is their problem?

How do I get them to give me more?! Or another card?!
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
lhcole77
Valued Contributor

Re: How to make Citi like me?

Have you contacted EO? They are very friendly.

Message 2 of 16
b_diddy
Established Contributor

Sounds like Citi doesn't care much about existing relationships based on many posts I've read here ... have you tried EO to go over how loyal a customer you've been?  At some point, you may have to just move on to greener pastures.

FICO Scores: EX 733 (1/17/15) EQ 761 (1/17/15) TU 750 (1/17/15)

Message 3 of 16
trumpet-205
Valued Contributor

High balance is the highest balance an account that has ever carried, and yes, it'll continue to report even after 11 years.

Honestly, I wouldn't bother with Citi to begin with.