cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How will doing a balance transfer affect my score?

tag
MissExcellentCredit
Regular Contributor

How will doing a balance transfer affect my score?

Hey guys. I have a fairly high interest rate on one of my CC's and am looking to do a balance transfer at a credit union.  My concern is this: I've had the CC for a very long time (13 years) and have a decent payment history.  If I do a balance transfer, does that card shut down, and will it show up on my credit report as having opened a new card?  Sorry if this question sounds elementary, but I've never done a balance transfer before.  Thanks.

Current 2013 Score: ScoreWatch Transunion: 737, ScoreWatch Equifax: 723, Nordstrom Equifax: 734
Goal Score for January 2014: 750-809 range

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: How will doing a balance transfer affect my score?

@MissExcellentCredit wrote:

Hey guys. I have a fairly high interest rate on one of my CC's and am looking to do a balance transfer at a credit union.  My concern is this: I've had the CC for a very long time (13 years) and have a decent payment history.  If I do a balance transfer, does that card shut down, and will it show up on my credit report as having opened a new card?  Sorry if this question sounds elementary, but I've never done a balance transfer before.  Thanks.

Are you talking about doing a BT from a card you have with a CU? Or do you mean a personal loan? Sorry for my confusion.

Doing a BT will not affect the status of of that 13 year old CC. And if you are doing the BT from another already existing card nothing new will show up on your reports.

Am I making any sense?  Smiley Happy

From a BK years ago to:
EX - 9/09 pulled by lender 802, EQ - 10/10-813, TU - 10/10-774

"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they've made a difference. The Marines don't have that problem".

Message 2 of 18
DI