cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have the Sapphire and do not understand points.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have the Sapphire and do not understand points.

I was approved for Chase Sapphire ($9,000 CLI) last month and have spent the $4,000 necessary to qualify for the 40,000 free miles.  I tried booking a hypothetical flight to Cancun using the Chase Rewards System.  Flight is listed for $450 whereas the same flight on cheaptickets.com is only $350.

I am new to the rewards game. Is there a card that one can use at any site?  

Message 1 of 34
33 REPLIES 33
kdm31091
Super Contributor

Re: I have the Sapphire and do not understand points.

Booking through chase is usually more expensive so its not worth it even with the "extra points" you get.

Id caution you to thoroughly research next time. The card really only shines if you transfer your points to airline and sometimes hotel partners. For other redemptions, a cash back card generally will come out ahead or the same.
Message 2 of 34
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is there a card that earns points that I can use on ANY website?  Expedia?  Southwest Airlines, etc? Any opinion on the Capital One Venture? 

Message 3 of 34
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Is there a card that earns points that I can use on ANY website?  Expedia?  Southwest Airlines, etc? Any opinion on the Capital One Venture? 

KDMs comment about a cashback card.  Something like Citi Double Cash earsn 2% on all transactions, and you can have the cash redeemed to your bank account.   Then use on any site.

Stuff like Venture and Barclays Arrival also earn 2 points per $, but HAVE to be redeemed for travel (whereas Double Cash can be used anyway).  Worth having the first year for the bonus and lack of annual fee that year, but much less useful for many after that

Message 4 of 34
kdm31091
Super Contributor