cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm new, and I need help choosing my first unsecured card(s)!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm new, and I need help choosing my first unsecured card(s)!

I'm 22 and have no debt or credit lines other than a USAA $1000 secured MC with an 8 month history, no baddies (pay in full each month) and a credit utilization ratio of ~15%.  I started with this card because I had no credit history when I graduated from college last year (yeah, I know--big mistake).  FICO 726.

Anyway, I now have 40k in assets saved up from working over the last 8 months, and a stable job paying six figures, as well as no intention of ever carrying a balance.  My goals here are to:

1) build credit in the most efficient way possible

2) earn rewards in the meantime

Some more info:

1) I have no other sources of credit and do not visualize having any soon (no student loans, auto loan, mortgage, etc.)

2) I have no car (no gas expense), no utilities expense (incl. in rent), no groceries expense (I eat at work), and no time to travel (have you guessed my city/industry yet..?)

3) I do intend to step up my purchases over the later part of this year, and want to do it in a way that helps my credit, not hurts it

Some of the things I'm thinking about:

1) I need to start building relationships with the big guys

2) I want to keep my credit utilization low, which means I need a much higher CL

3) I don't care about balance transfers, apr, overdraft/late penalties

4) I do care about rewards, but gas/groceries/travel/concierge are irrelevant

So... what should I do?  Apply for 1 card?  3?  Which ones do you recommend?  What kinds of credit limits should I expect if I am accepted by the cards you recommend?  Thanks for your time Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
gettingstarted
Regular Contributor

Re: I'm new, and I need help choosing my first unsecured card(s)!