Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

INCOME/ CL on CC

tag
gettnthere
Established Contributor

INCOME/ CL on CC

I have an interesting question for you guys. I always see where people put heavy weight on income in relation to credit limits. As of right now, I absolutely DO NOT have ANY big Cl's..Or decent Cl's for that matter lol. I know its bc IM relatively new to credit and lenders don't quite trust me that much yet but IM looking to build relationships and grow higher Cl's. I know ALOT of ya'll make alot more money than I do (not ashamed to admit it lol) but my income is $68,500 right now and will be right at $71,000  by January 2013. I do not think it will go past that for a long while. Now with that being said, is it unrealistic to think that I can get  CL's of at least 20k based on that income or do you guys think its very possible. Im just wondering where I stand as far as CL's go and just how much I can expect them to grow based on my stated income. What are ya'lls honest opinions?

Starting Score: EQ 609, EX 633(Fako), TU 700
Current Score: EQ 699, EX 758, TU 733
Goal Score: 720 across the board
Garden Club Member-GC Challenge: App free since 10/31/12 Smiley Wink
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
jamesdwi
Valued Contributor

Re: INCOME/ CL on CC

Half of getting good CL's is qualifing and APing for the right cards. Rebuilder cards don't give good limits. But you can't get good cards without proven experience with cards so you are stuck starting with them. To get in with the good cards you need 1 year experience with 2 or more MC/VISA/DISC based credit cards. No lates or baddies in the last 2+ years and a FICO score of at 650 to get through the door, if youi want to start with higher limits Its best to start with a 700 FICO.