Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Income vs available credit

tag
scottwagnon
Valued Contributor

Re: Income vs available credit

my total available credit accross all of my cards is well over 100%. and yes, i did have a problem attemping a cli for my bankamericard in november 2011. i just recently reduced my total available credit by 18.1k in the last week. i hope to have better luck with my bankamericard next time i request a CLI after my accounts report as closed.

earth air water fire master visa express discover
Message 11 of 33
andre181
Established Contributor

As long as you have sufficent positive credit history, most creditors are not too concerned. But at some point the will begin to cut you off.

My available credit is almost 500% or 5x my income, and I continue to get CLI's and new cards.

I'm a college student who makes about $12,000/year and my total revolving credit limits are currently $58,300.

Discover IT $35K | FNBO Visa $30K | Cash+ Visa Sig $19.5K | Southwest Premier $16K | Priceline $15K | Citi Forward $14.3K | US Bank Plat $14K | Commerce Bank $13K | CSP $13K | CSR $10K | Sallie Mae World MC $10K | Lowe’s Consumer 10K | BoA Cash Rewards 1-2-3 Sig $7.5K | Fidelity Visa $7K | Citi Double Cash $6.5K | WF Cash Back Visa $5.4K | Capital One Cash Rewards $5K | AMEX BCE $3.9K | Freedom $2.5K | Younkers/Comenity $2.4K | Kohl’s 1.5K | Target $1.4K | EX FICO (from AMEX): 768, TU FICO (from Discover): 797, AAoA: 4.4 years
Message 12 of 33
GoingTo800
Contributor

@drsmith wrote:

At what point, if any, do you think credit card companies start to question why you're asking for more credit?

For example, I'm currently at about 66% of my total income in available credit. I obviously have no use for so much, but there are still more cards I'd like to apply for. 

Has this ever been an issue for any of you?