Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increasing my Credit score

tag
osbranger

Increasing my Credit score

Hello,

This is my first post to the forum. I really need some advice.
I am 21 yrs old and I am new to credit; I have had a BoA CC for 6 months now. Today I was approved for an AMEX Everyday Blue Cash CC. 
I started monitoring my score on CK and I dont know how accurate/official that score is. It started out at 734 and stayed there until today when it dropped to 710. It dropped bc of the AMEX inquiry. 
I pay my balance off each month and keep my utilization to ~20%. 
How can I keep my score increasing?
My parents are fixing to renew our cell phones, and I want to put the new plan under my name and let them pay for it. I have heard that paying a bill can help your score?
Is there anything else I can be doing?
Does utilization play key roll in increasing a score? If so, what should I keep it at monthly?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

~OSB

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

Re: Increasing my Credit score

@osbranger wrote:

Hello,

I am 21 yrs old and I am new to credit; I have had a BoA CC for 6 months now. Today I was approved for an AMEX Everyday Blue Cash CC. 
I started monitoring my score on CK and I dont know how accurate/official that score is. It started out at 734 and stayed there until today when it dropped to 710. It dropped bc of the AMEX inquiry. 
My parents are fixing to renew our cell phones, and I want to put the new plan under my name and let them pay for it. I have heard that paying a bill can help your score?
Does utilization play key roll in increasing a score? If so, what should I keep it at monthly?

~OSB

Welcome to the forum and congrats on your approval. Having a cell bill or any other utility will not increase your FICO score.

Util is 30% of your CS ; what other cc's do you have? How many inq's in the past 12 mos? How many TLs in the past 12 mos?

Edit: typo

Message 2 of 10
Shock