Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interesting REI Visa experience.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Interesting REI Visa experience.

Hello everyone. I've been following this board for about a month now. I have since gained invaluable knowledge.

I wanted to give those who are interested in the REI Visa an overview of my experience. I am a huge fan of REI, I have joyfully spent thousands of dollars purchasing outdoor equipment from them. After receiving, what appeared to be, a preapproval offer from U.S. Bank for the REI Visa, I jumped on it. I used the offer code provided to me in the letter and proceeded to apply online. Once I hit the submit button, I was instantly denied. The letter would come in 7-10 days.

I am fairly new to the credit game. I have one one credit card with a $2000 limit through Chase, an amazon visa. I also have a car installment, which has never been late, a mortgage, never late and 2 paid off student loans, which were never late. My scores are in the high 600's/low 700's. My Transunion fako Score is 702. AAoA is 3.5 years.

Learning of the recon methods refered to in these very forums, I used a back door number and called U.S. Bank. I spoke to a CSR/ underwriter who states they only needed to confirm my address. Once I confirmed, the CSR stated I was approved and would receive my card in 7-10 days. AWESOME!!!. About 5 days had passed and a letter from U.S. Bank arrived. There was no hard item in it. It was another denial Letter. This time it stated that I was denied "due to too many inquiries using your ssn". Really? The only credit I have applied for in the past 2 years were my Amazon Visa and MY MORTGAGE THROUGH U.S. BANK. U.S. Bank pulled Transunion, I live in Florida.