cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interesting income / credit card question ..

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Interesting income / credit card question ..

So, when you apply for a credit card, the income question has always bemused me... most of us when we app put our income AT THAT MOMENT -- we dont use last year's (as AMEX wants for FR apparently -- never had one, but seen many posts!), we dont use future income and we dont use income far in the past.  So, lets say that I go back to school this fall, and suddenly my incomes declines 60% as I'm a FT student... What does this mean?  If FR'd by any comapany or audited per se, would it not make sense to show the income we used WHEN WE APPLIED ?  or, at that current moment ?

Reason I aslk is simple... Im going back to pursue my higher nursing license in Sept, and my high income will go down considerably as I devote to studies.  My partner will still work FT so our combined income will still be over $75k, but nowhere near where it is now.  And to be truthful I will be relying heavily on my credit cards due to lost income -- smart?  No.  But it is what it is.  Upon graduation in late 2017, the payoff will be MASSIVE.  50% increase in pay, at least -- and nursing is one of those professions that basically guarantee job placement (already been offered within my agency).  So, I have a plan indeed -- but for 18 months, my cards may be UTIL at or well above 50% each (books, tuition, living expenses, computer etc)...of course I will keep making payments, 2x minimum at least.

But I have always pondered this income ever chnaging question... Only semi concerned about AA, because to be honest, whatever I lose I will gain back in 2018 when my new job starts (and likely thensome, once payoffs occur and UTIL drops) .... so, Any takers?  

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
noobody
Established Contributor

Re: Interesting income / credit card question ..