Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is USAA Known to AA New Customers?

tag
Johnny_Favorite
Regular Contributor

Is USAA Known to AA New Customers?

I just got my 12k amex in the mail courtesy of AA. We are going on a trip next month and I was originally thinking of charging the tickets and hotel on my new Chase Freedom. But after reading that Chase has been known to CLD people who do crazy purchases when they are brand new, I am thinking of charging the trip on my USAA card. Sadly I will miss out on rewards, but hoping I won't get any kind of adverse action.

Has anyone ever charged 2000 on a USAA card and had no problems? I'm brand new to their cards. Haven't even made a single purchase and don't want to set off red flags with my first purchase. I'd rather use my ATM/VISA if I'm going to set off red flags somewhere.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
HappySoda
Valued Member

Re: Is USAA Known to AA New Customers?

They approved you for a high limit with intention of letting you use it. Charge away.

Message 2 of 9
paulbrapp
New Contributor

When I first got my World MC I did a cash advance to my checking for $1500 with no AA.

Message 3 of 9
Elcid89
Contributor

@paulbrapp wrote:

When I first got my World MC I did a cash advance to my checking for $1500 with no AA.

Ditto. Cash advances from USAA cards to USAA checking accounts is how one avoids their balance transfer fee. They do not, in my experience anyway, question usage based solely on the amount of a transaction. It shouldn't create any stirrings at anti-fraud.

FICO 04 scores: 809 (EQ) 812 (EX) 818 (TU)

Amex Platinum NPSL - Citi HHonors Sig. $58k - BMW Ultimate $40k
Chase Sapphire Preferred $62k - Merrill Lynch + Signature $41k - USAA Rate Advantage $28k
NFCU Flagship Signature $50k - USAA Cash Rewards AMEX $28k
Citi Platinum Select / AAdvantage Signature $31k - Chase Amtrak Rewards World MC $41k

Message 4 of 9
LesWH
Established Contributor

@Elcid89 wrote:

@paulbrapp wrote: