cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is college student under 18 eligible for student cc?

tag
rosa29617
New Contributor

Is college student under 18 eligible for student cc?

My daughter is seventeen, will be eighteen in late April; graduated in Dec.(early...will march in June though); anyway, she's now enrolled in community college and works part-time. Is she eligible to apply for a student cc? I want her to begin building credit foundation so she won't have the same problems I had when I finished college. Back in the day, citibank was handing out cc to college students like candy. My credit was ruined by the time I graduated. Equally, having NO credit is just as bad. I have had discussions with her to help her understand that I do not believe in co-signing for anyone and 'getting and maintaining good credit' is an issue she must take up early and if she wants stability in her life. So, since the new laws kick in before she turns eighteen, I want to know if she can apply for a student cc, so she won't need a co-signer? There's two pluses, she's a college student, and she works. I would appreciate any advice. Incidentally, when does the new cc law take effect????
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
BungalowMo
Senior Contributor

Re: Is college student under 18 eligible for student cc?

I am fairly certain that no one can get a cc in (only) their name before their 18th birthday.  I believe this is a fed law.  I believe you can add her as an AU on a card you have, but she cannot get her own just yet.
BK 7 discharge 06.24.2020 No Fico score at all. Smiley Sad
Message 2 of 12
Jazzzy
Valued Contributor

I don't believe a contract with anyone under 18 is legal, so I don't know why the credit card companies would do it.
Message 3 of 12
rosa29617
New Contributor

So, does anyone know for sure how the new law will affect young adults. She will turn 18 after the law kicks in; I'm thinking I will have to co-sign if she is to have a cc.

Message 4 of 12